02nd Apr 2020

Colour Therapy

Colour Therapy is a holistic therapy with evidence dating back thousands of years. We are surrounded by colour but are rarely aware of the profound effect it has on us physically and emotionally. Colour Therapy harnesses the energies of light and the colours of the spectrum to correct any imbalances and bring the body back into harmony, restoring health and well-being.


Chakras are energy centres located within the body, they not only absorb but reflect light energy. When the chakras are functioning well, energy flows freely through the energetic system and this leads to a greater sense of health and wellbeing. If a chakra is blocked this leads to an energy imbalance which can manifest in a physical or emotional function, which often leads to illness. For instance if you have frequent stomach aches and have low self-confidence, you may need to consider a blockage in your solar plexis.

The energy relating to the colours of the spectrum, red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo and violet, resonates with the energy of the 7 main chakras.

There are numerous ways to balance the chakras, this includes colour therapy using coloured light, visualization, crystals, decor, clothing, eating foods associated within the colours of each of the chakra and yoga. Basically we need a balance of all colours in to have happy, healthy lives.

painting decor ideas

Red – The first or base chakra

  • Located at the base of the spine.
  • Linked to the physical status of a person and connected to passion, life, energy and security.
  • An imbalance can lead to fatigue and anxiety.
  • Go for a walk in nature and introduce red to enhance your connection to the earth.

Orange – The sacral chakra

  • Located below the navel.
  • The centre of creativity, well-being and joy.
  • An imbalance can lead to difficulties in relationships, jobs and happiness.
  • Introduce orange to boost creativity and positive emotions.
Colour Therapy Orange Paint

Yellow – The solar plexus chakra

  • Located at the centre of our being.
  • Linked physically to the nervous system. Symbolises the mental activities and intellect.
  • Emotionally it is linked to confidence and self-worth.
  • Introduce yellow to brighten you life and make you feel more empowered.

Green – The heart chakra.

  • The centre of love, connection, balance and harmony.
  • Linked to healing, equilibrium and life renewal.
  • Introduce green to enhance the hearts vitality and be able to give and receive unconditional love.

Blue – The throat chakra

  • The centre of expression and is associated with communication, speaking the truth and authenticity.
  • When imbalanced you may struggle to convey what you want to.
  • Introduce blue to open up the lines of communication.

Indigo – the Brow Chakra or third eye

  • The centre of creative visualization.
  • When balanced you have a clear sense of direction.
  • You can heighten your intuition.

Violet – the Crown chakra

  • Located at the crown of the head.
  • The centre of spirituality connecting you to a higher intelligence.
  • Associated with spiritual enlightenment.

If yoga or meditation is not for you then there are other ways to bring the energy of colour into your life. I  practice colour therapy on myself everyday in the clothes that I choose to wear and the colours I choose to surround myself with. Most people do this instinctively without even realising it, we are naturally drawn to colours we need.

Inspiration: https://anneroselt.com/2017/05/08/the-link-between-colour-therapy-chakras-and-your-decor/